Irretyepwenty Ywentent Pwert Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC

Click here to download a detailed profile and contact information.


Irretyepwenty Ywentent Pwert Aboriginal Corporation administers land on behalf of the Alhankerr, Atwl/Alkwepetye, Ilkewarn, Kwaty, Mpweringke, Ntyerlkem/Urapentye and Tywerl landholding groups. Their ownership over the land was recognised in the Aileron Pastoral Lease native title determination of April 2017. The claim was heard together with the Aileron (Nolan’s Bore) claim made by the Kwaty and Tywerl landholding groups, for which Kwaty Aboriginal Corporation was nominated as the prescribed body corporate.

In the Aileron Pastoral Lease consent determination, the Court held that non-exclusive native title rights and interests are held by the above landholding groups over an area of approximately 4,001 square kilometres in the southern Northern Territory. Aileron Roadhouse, which is within the external boundaries of the determination area but was not part of the claim, is approximately 134 kilometres north of Alice Springs on the Stuart Highway.

The determination area includes much of the Aileron Perpetual Pastoral Lease, Anna’s Reservoir Conservation Reserve and Ryan Well Historical Reserve, in addition to three square kilometres of Crown land leased to AustralAsia Railway Corporation.

Managed by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
AIATSIS acknowledges the funding support of the Native Title Branch of
the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C).